The Ruins

Image source: Google

The ruins of a massive palace,

The crumbled walls and the broken windows.

The house of my dreams, 

The dwelling of my desires,

Lay shattered like this.

The weedy pond beside the colossal ruins,

Suffocating the fishes inside.

The cage of my past,

The shackles of my mistakes,

Stifles me like this.

The bird on the branch,

Coloured like my myriad wishes,

Ignites a hope,

To pick the ruins of my dreams,

And glue them together.

It’s fluttering wings,

Giving me the courage to break my shackles,

To free myself,

Forgive myself,

And teaching me the lesson to live.

One thought on “The Ruins

Leave a Reply

