Fighting for Phoebe-Book Review

BOOK DETAILS:

Fighting for Phoebe
by Jennifer Ann

Publication
date: November 28th 2016

Genres
: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

 SYNOPSIS:

Jace Daniels is undeniably sexy.

I mean who doesn’t like the muscular, tattooed type who’s all mysterious and brooding? But he’s on the run from something dangerous, and I have enough of my own problems.

My existence has revolved around deception for as long as I can remember. Sometimes lying is like a damn disease…one I’ve been exposed to since birth. And as many times as I’ve dreamed about running away, my mother’s grasp on me runs deep.

Phoebe Carson is hot as hell.

She’s not just gorgeous, but quirky and a lot of fun. Even though I can’t afford to get involved with anyone, I feel a need to protect her from her psychotic ex.

After a failed attempt to expose the truth about a fellow Marine’s disappearance, running was my only option. I don’t know how much time I have until they’ll arrest me, but I’m determined to make things right.

When their paths collide, the passion is so explosive that neither of them can walk away. But once the truth unravels, proving it’s more than fate that brought them together, will Jace still decide she’s worth fighting for?

REVIEW:

Life has always been miserable for Phoebe. Her mother controlled her life and made her to do things that she didn’t want to do. Her brother, who gave her hopes of breaking free, left her too. Add on is her ex boyfriend who is another brute. Then one night at a bar she meets a stranger, Jace, who fought for her with her ex boyfriend to save her. He is on a mission in her town, he is on run and does not want to involve with anyone. But soon he falls for Phoebe, and she realises that Jace is the best thing that ever happened to her.

 Jace was like a ray of hope in this miserable life of hers. He loved her despite of her past and gave her courage to break out. He understood her even when she tried to push him away, he made her see that everyone is not same and he is not going to leave her whatever trouble might rise. 

Phoebe’s vulnerable yet strong character made a way to my heart. All the things Jace did for Phoebe, to help her, to protect her made him undeniably a quite charming character. I also liked Kory, Phoebe’s friend, who was always ready to help her.

Fighting for Phoebe is a beautiful love story with a bit of suspense here and there. The suspense was definitely a plus point and kept me on the edge of my seat. The story is quite unpredictable at parts and the twist, towards the end of the book was unquestionably the cherry on the top for this novel. Another plus point was those sex scenes which were sinfully sexy and well described, making this book a treat for erotic lovers. 

I don’t really have any complaints about this novel. But I would like to say that I didn’t like one of the fight sequences, because it kind of felt mechanical and hence lacked the needed thrill. Jace and Phoebe’s repeated efforts to keep each other out of their respective problems, to some extent, irritated me a bit. 

Overall Fighting for Phoebe is a nice love story, at times cute and heart warming and other times sad and heartbreaking.  I would absolutely recommend it to all romance lovers.

LIFE AT 17 RATING:

🎐🎐🎐🎐🔸

(4.5 stars)

*I got this book from Xpresso Book Tours through the review opportunity*

Xpresso Book Tours

Leave a Reply

