Willow Woods Academy For Witches Blog Tour: Book Review

Welcome to my tour stop for Willow Woods Academy For Witches blog tour. For my stop I am going to review Willow Woods Academy For Witches (Willow Woods Book 1)

Willow Woods Academy for Witches
Willow Woods Book 1
by R.L.Weeks & Skylar Mckinzie
Genre: YA Fantasy Mystery
An unforgettable YA novel filled with mystery and magic. Fans of Harry
Potter and Beautiful Creatures will love this series.
Kat and Angie have just enrolled at Willow Woods Academy for Witches
against their parent’s wishes. They’re thrown into a magical,
mysterious world that is everything they dreamt it to be. However,
when an ancient book falls into their laps, their worlds are turned
upside down.
10 years ago, a rivalry between the covens of Willow Woods Academy and
Morwood’s School cost many their lives and cast a dark shadow over
the academy. Now, Morwood’s has opened again for the first time since
the incident, and mysterious happenings are occurring – and they all
seem to be surrounding Kat.

School’s never easy, and with her exams coming up, a stalker in the trees, and
her family name shadowing doubt over what side she’s on, the first
year of school is more of an adventure than she had ever anticipated.

Review

The synopsis of Willow Woods Academy For Witches sounds really interesting, plus that cover is quite appealing but I won’t lie, what made me eventually pick this book up was this statement,”Fans of Harry Potter and Beautiful Creatures will love this series” and I love Harry Potter series a lot. I had pretty high expectations from this book and I am really glad that this book lived up to my expectations.

The first thing I wish to talk about is the characters. I loved both Angie and Kat’s characters. Both of them were very relatable. Even though they were witches but they were like normal girls, with normal wishes and desires.

Though we get to know who the villain is in first few pages but still that does not stop this book from being a page turner because with each turning page we get new twists and turns. And the chapters 30-33 just stole the show, they were super thrilling.

If you have read Harry Potter, then in different places of this book you are sure to get Harry Potter vibes, this is something I loved.

As always there are a few things that I didn’t like. Actually there were only two complaints I have about this book. I first one is I wish there was more magic, even though less of magic actually made the characters more relatable to me but still I can’t help myself from asking for more magic. I think the next books of the series will have more magic because the second half of the book had quite a lot of magic plus in next books they will be in higher years and would have learned more magic. Another thing is I wish this book was longer, because I wanted more class (not class of people, I am talking about class where we are taught lessons or subjects) descriptions. There were only three classes described and that too really brief, but those brief descriptions were really nice and left me wanting more.

Anyway these minor problems didn’t stop me from loving this book a lot and will not stop me from picking up next books in Willow Woods Series. There is a cliffhanger at the end and I just can’t wait to read what the next book has in store.

Final words

If you have read and loved Harry Potter then this book is definitely for you. If you haven’t read Harry Potter but are fan of YA fantasy/ mystery, then do give this book a shot you won’t be disappointed.

LIFE AT 17 RATING

πŸŽπŸŽπŸŽπŸŽπŸ”Έ

(4.5 STARS OUT OF 5)


Willow Woods Academy for Witches and Wizards
Willow Woods Book 2
An unforgettable YA novel filled with mystery and magic – Fans of Harry
Potter and Beautiful Creatures will love this series.
The girls are back at school, but Angie’s dreams about a secret order may
be more than just dreams.
Lara Ash is about to find out that all choices have consequences, and that
being back from the dead isn’t as fun as she first thought. She
catches the eye of Angie’s older brother, Grayson, and clings to him
as her world falls apart. The rift between her and Angie Dupree, her
sister Kat’s best friend, causes Kat and Angie to fall out for the
first time.
Angie meets two new friends, the peppy Isolde and secretive Lizzie.
However, they seem to be holding secrets of their own.

When it comes to crunch time, can the group work together to stop an evil
from destroying their lives, or will their own secrets be too much?
This book is recommended for readers aged 13+.
Warning:
This book deals with bullying and has scenes of mild violence.

R L Weeks is the bestselling and award-winning author of the Dead Loves Life
Series, Bloodlust, The Fallen, Willow Woods Academy for Witches,
Cursed, and the owner of Enchanted Anthologies, publisher of
Fractured Fairytales Books 1 & 2, A Deadly World: Vampires in
Paris, Things Only the Darkness Knows, and Christmas Nightmares.
She lives in a small village in the UK.

When she’s not writing, she’s traveling, reading (paranormal, fantasy and
horror being her go to genres) and designing covers for Dark Wish
Designs.
Skylar McKinzie lives in the small town of Screven, Ga. When she’s not writing,
she’s cooking, baking, reading, and spending time with her family.
She also loves long walks and sitting by the bonfire in October,
which is her favorite month of the year.
She writes horror and paranormal romance. She is working on her next
novel due to be released by the end of the year.
Follow the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!
Advertisements

One thought on “Willow Woods Academy For Witches Blog Tour: Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s